skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To C. H. Tindal   5 January 1880

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Jan 5. 1880

Dear Sir,

Your kindness has been extreme in having taken so much trouble in searching through the letters and copying the extracts.1 I value them much, and they interest me strangely by bringing before my eyes old passed scenes. I never knew how my father (Dr R. Darwin of Shrewsbury)2 became so intimate with all the Clives. I dimly remember staying when a child at Stych & seeing a very old Mrs Clive, no doubt the widow of the Archdeacon.3 The extract about the eagerness of the two learned divines to see a pig’s body opened is very amusing; & that about my grandfather’s character is of much value to me.4 I now hope that there may be a second edition of the Life, that I may use a few extracts from the materials which you have so kindly given me.5 The information about Mr Gifford & the Archdeacon is now quite sufficient. I was glad to read the P.S. about my father & about the outline made by my mother.6

With the most cordial thanks, I remain, | dear Sir, | Yours faithfully | Charles Darwin

Footnotes

Tindal had sent extracts from the correspondence between Richard Gifford and Robert Clive (1722/3–92), friends of CD’s grandfather Erasmus Darwin (see letter from C. H. Tindal, 1 January 1880).
Styche Hall in Shropshire was the seat of the Clive family; Rebecca Clive was the wife of Robert Clive, archdeacon of Shropshire.
Erasmus Darwin 2d ed. was published after CD’s death, but no new material was added.
The postscripts must have been in one of the letters that CD returned to Tindal; they have not been found. In his letter of 1 January 1880, Tindal mentioned a picture cut out in black paper by CD’s mother, Susannah Darwin.

Bibliography

Erasmus Darwin 2d ed.: The life of Erasmus Darwin. By Charles Darwin. Being an introduction to an essay on his scientific works. By Ernst Krause. Translated from the German by W. S. Dallas. 2d edition. London: John Murray. 1887.

Summary

Thanks for the information about Dr Erasmus Darwin and his parents.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-12405F
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Charles Harrison Tindal
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 185: 118
Physical description
LS pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 12405F,” accessed on 25 June 2022, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-12405F.xml

letter