skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To G. S. Ffinden   11 November 1879

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Nov 11th 1879

My dear Sir

I enclose a cheque for £11"s5"0 for the Down Coal & Clothing Club1 consisting as follow

Ch. Darwin 5.5.0

Francis D. 3.0.0

George D. 1.0.0

Leonard D. 1.0.0

Miss. D.2 1.0.0

——–

£11:5:0.

It is, as you remark, fortunate that there is a good balance from last year.—3

My dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The Down Coal and Clothing Club was a local charity that supplied parishioners with cheap coal and clothes in exchange for regular savings; CD served as treasurer from 1848 to 1869 (see Correspondence vol. 4, letter to John Innes, [8 May 1848] and n. 2). Ffinden was the vicar of Down; he ran the Coal and Clothing Club (J. R. Moore 1985, p. 470). On 11 November 1879, CD recorded a payment of £11 5s under the heading ‘Ffinden’ in his Account books–banking account (Down House MS); he recorded the payment of £5 5s. under the heading ‘Down coal club’ in his Classed account books (Down House MS).
Elizabeth Darwin (1847–1926) was CD’s daughter.
No letter from Ffinden regarding the balance of the Coal and Clothing Club has been found.

Bibliography

Moore, James Richard. 1985. Darwin of Down: the evolutionist as squarson-naturalist. In The Darwinian heritage, edited by David Kohn. Princeton, N.J.: Princeton University Press in association with Nova Pacifica (Wellington, NZ).

Summary

Encloses a cheque to the Down Coal and Clothing Club.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-12308
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
George Sketchley Ffinden
Sent from
Down
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 12308,” accessed on 1 December 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-12308.xml

letter