skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From G. H. Darwin   10 July 1879

T. C. Camb

July 10. 79

Dear Father,

I have written to Col. J. L. Chester to know if he wd. like to see the deeds & he will write to you if he wd.1 I shd. think you might describe him as an eminent archæologist introduced to us by

Mr. Edward Peacock F.S.A2

of Bottesford Manor,

Lincolnshire

I shd. think Mrs. D. wd. consent.3 I have just sent her copies of my papers & you will get a copy returned from Wm.4 I am getting on with my work tho’ seedy with sore throat cough & liver.

Tell Mother to tell Bessy that I believe the Calais Douvres is running in the day every day except Sunday & Monday.5

Yours affec. | G H Darwin

“Mrs. D | Creskeld | Otley | Yorkshire”

Footnotes

Joseph Lemuel Chester. See letter to G. H. Darwin, 8 [July 1879] and nn. 2 and 3. The deeds related to the Cleatham estate in North Lincolnshire, formerly owned by Charlotte Maria Cooper Darwin and CD’s great-great-uncle William Darwin (1681–1760).
Edward Peacock was a fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London. CD wanted to give Chester an introduction to Simon Dunning, a solicitor who held records of the Darwin family (letter to G. H. Darwin, 8 [July 1879]).
Elizabeth Darwin and Mary Elizabeth Atkin had travelled to Switzerland on 17 June 1879; they returned to Down on 18 July 1879 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)). George refers to the ferry from Calais, France, to Dover (Douvres is the French for Dover), England.

Summary

Has written to Col. J. L. Chester [genealogist] to ask whether he would like to see the deeds [for Darwin genealogy, see Emma Darwin 2: 237].

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-12145
From
George Howard Darwin
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Trinity College, Cambridge
Source of text
DAR 210.2: 79
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 12145,” accessed on 23 May 2022, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-12145.xml

letter