skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Francis Galton   15 [June 1879]1

From Mr. C. Darwin, Down, Beckenham.

One line to thank you for Photograph.2 My little Biography has turned out, alas, very dull & has disappointed me much.3 May your tour turn out pleasant under a better sky than our detestable one.—4

C.D.

15th.—

Footnotes

The month and year are established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Francis Galton, 7 June 1879.
Galton had ordered a photograph of a picture of Elizabeth Darwin (1747–1832) (see letter from Francis Galton, 7 June 1879 and n. 7).
CD had written a biographical sketch for the English translation of Ernst Krause’s essay on Erasmus Darwin (Krause 1879a; Erasmus Darwin).
Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242) recorded rain on 15 June 1879 and for two other days in that week.

Bibliography

Erasmus Darwin. By Ernst Krause. Translated from the German by W. S. Dallas, with a preliminary notice by Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1879.

Krause, Ernst. 1879a. Erasmus Darwin, der Großvater und Vorkämpfer Charles Darwin’s: ein Beitrag zur Geschichte der Descendenz-Theorie. Kosmos 4 (1878–9): 397–424.

Summary

CD’s little biography [Erasmus Darwin] has turned out very dull.

May FG’s tour turn out pleasant.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-12109
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Francis Galton
Sent from
Down
Source of text
UCL Library Services, Special Collections (GALTON/3/3/4/3)
Physical description
ApcS

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 12109,” accessed on 26 September 2022, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-12109.xml

letter