skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From G. H. Darwin   10 May 1879

Trin Coll.

Sat May 10. 79

My dear Father,

I send another batch of extracts which I found by looking thro’ the indexes to the Monthly Mag. for 6 or 7 years. There were a number of other references but they were only about his poetry & science & did not seem of interest.1 I also send the enclosed from Prof. Mayor, but there is nothing new in it.2

I am very glad to hear that your visit to Mr. Rich was so prosperous & that you liked him.3

Leo & Horace4 come here today for the Sunday, its horrid cold weather for them.

I have been exceedingly unwell lately & have hardly done any work. These bitter winds have aggravated my cold & I have it in chest & throat as well as its more usual situation. I hope very much I shall be a little better for Glasgow.5

My work is not going nearly so swimmingly as I thought & I have a big difficulty, tho’ when I get thro’ it I fancy the results will be better than ever.6

The book wh. came was Thomson & Tait, but I am much puzzled. It is published by the Camb. Univ. Press & the copy has in it “From the Syndics of the C.U. Press”   I wrote to thank Thomson for it, which was something of a faux pas, if he did’nt give it me.7 But I am almost certain that it is as broad as its long & that they give presentation copies, the names of the persons being suggested by the authors.

It must have been Thomson who sent it to Down, otherwise it wd. have come here

Yours affec | G H Darwin


George had already found one article that CD wanted on Erasmus Darwin in the Monthly Magazine, or, British Register (see letter from G. H. Darwin, 5 May 1879 and n. 1). The extracts have not been found.
John Eyton Bickersteth Mayor. The enclosure has not been found.
From 6 to 8 May 1879, the Darwins visited Worthing to meet Anthony Rich, whom they lunched with on 7 May (see letter to G. H. Darwin, 7 May [1879]). George had met Rich in January (see letter to W. E. Darwin, 10 January [1879] and n. 2)
George was probably planning to visit William Thomson in Glasgow. Thomson’s wife, Frances Anna Thomson, had told Horace Darwin that they would be in Glasgow until 20 May 1879 and would be glad to see George any time before then (letter from Horace Darwin to G. H. Darwin, [19 April 1879]; DAR 258: 868).
In his letter of 5 May 1879, George mentioned having made an astronomical discovery relating to taking observations of the sun.
The first volume of W. Thomson and Tait 1879–83, published by Cambridge University Press, had been sent to Down, rather than to Trinity College, Cambridge, where George lived (see letter from G. H. Darwin, 5 May 1879 and n. 6).


Thomson, William and Tait, Peter Guthrie. 1879–83. Treatise on natural philosophy. New edition. 2 vols. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.


Sends abstracts of more articles [on Dr Erasmus Darwin] from Monthly Magazine.

Letter details

Letter no.
George Howard Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Trinity College, Cambridge
Source of text
DAR 210.2: 76
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 12048,” accessed on 4 June 2023,