skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Edward Cresy   [20 July 1848]1



My dear Sir,

You have thanked me far too much for the trifling aid which I have given & which I assure you has given me pleasure. I will not fail to speak to Owen,2 Sir H. Delebeche & Hutton, whenever I see them. I have no doubt that you have judged wisely in not getting me to write to the others.

I believe I mentioned to you that I hoped to have had a party of Naturalists here & that I would ask you to meet them: but my health has been so very indifferent & from my wife soon expecting her confinement, I have not asked anyone here.

I shall be at all times very glad to see you & hope you all success in your present scheme.

Yours sincerely, | In Haste, | C. Darwin.

I leave home on Saturday for a week to the sea-side.3


Dated by CD’s reference to leaving home for a week at the seaside, see n. 3, below.
Richard Owen, a member of the Metropolitan Commission of Sewers and a close friend of both William Buckland and Edwin Chadwick.
CD left for Swanage on 22 July 1848 (‘Journal’; Correspondence vol. 4, Appendix I). According to Emma Darwin’s diary, William Erasmus Darwin accompanied CD.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Will speak to Richard Owen, Henry De la Beche, and Robert Hutton concerning appointment for EC.

Leaving for sea-side on Saturday.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Edward Cresy, Jr
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 143: 308
Physical description
C 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1192,” accessed on 1 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4