skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Leopold Würtenberger   15 January 1879

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Jan 15. 1879

Dear Sir,

I am extremely sorry that your circumstances interfere with the continuance of your scientific work. I grieve to say that I can see no prospect of any English scientific society aiding you.1 But you may rely on my keeping your request in mind, & if any plan occurs to me I will write again in a fortnight’s time. If you do not hear you will understand that I cannot aid you & this I shall be very sorry for.2 I have carefully preserved your paper published in 1873 which then interested me greatly.3 I therefore return the copy received this morning as it might be useful to you.

I remain, | dear Sir. | Yours faithfully | Charles Darwin


CD’s next letter to Würtenberger has not been found, but see the letters to Melchior Neumayr, 15 January 1879 and 24 January 1879, and the letter from Leopold Würtenberger, 29 January 1879.
There is an annotated copy of Würtenberger’s ‘Neuer Beitrag zum geologischen Beweise der Darwin’schen Theorie’ (New contribution to the geological evidence for Darwinian theory; Würtenberger 1873) in the Darwin Pamphlet Collection–CUL.


Würtenberger, Leopold. 1873. Neuer Beitrag zum geologischen Beweise der Darwin’schen Theorie. Ausland, 4 January 1873, pp. 6–10; 13 January 1878, pp. 25–9.


Is sorry that LW’s circumstances interfere with his scientific work. Does not think any English scientific society can help.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Leopold Würtenberger
Sent from
Source of text
Helmut Würtenberger (private collection)
Physical description
LS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11829F,” accessed on 1 April 2023,