skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. E. Darwin   10 January [1879]

From Mr. C. Darwin, Down, Beckenham.

Many thanks for answer.— Pray do whatever you like about the Consols.—1 G. had a most prosperous visit at Worthing. A. R. quite a gentleman & highly accomplished in many ways.—2

C. Darwin

Jan. 10th.—


Anthony Rich had decided to leave his property in the City of London to CD (see Correspondence vol. 26, letter from Anthony Rich, 7 December 1878). George Howard Darwin sent William an account of his visit to Worthing, a town on the coast of Sussex, on 8 and 9 January (letter from G. H. Darwin to W. E. Darwin, 10 January 1879 (DAR 210.14: 14)):

He is a very little lively old man with a grey beard, & does’nt look near his age of 75. He is a great talker & pleasant. He seems to read a great deal—including French Italian Latin & Greek—and is very advanced in his views political social & religious. … I rather think his father had no profession; at any rate he lived in Surry & Mr. R. lived partly there & partly in London until about 20 years ago when his father died at the age of 94. He Mr. R. was at Caius Coll. Camb. & was a scholar of the college, but did not go out in honours, as it was before the days of Classical Tripos. He was going to the bar but fell ill & went and lived for 8 years in Italy, where he regularly worked as an artist at Rome. He has several of his drawings hanging up & they strike me as good. He gave up art when he became ill some 20 years ago, and as he was turned out of his London house by the lease ending, he came and settled at Worthing. He is a member of the Reform Club, but thinks most of the members a very weak-kneed lot in their liberalism.


G[eorge] has visited A[nthony] R[ich] at Worthing.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Erasmus Darwin
Sent from
JA 10 | 79
Source of text
DAR 210.6: 152
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11824,” accessed on 1 April 2023,