skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. D. Fox   19 December [1856]1

Delamere Ry | Northwich

Dec 19

My dear Darwin

I am got back from Malvern very much better for Dr Gully.2 I sadly miss the Douche here & wish I had yours.3 My substitutes are 3 pails of water thrown over me on rising before a shallow—& 6 minutes water poured down spine at Noon—but they do not fill the place of the Douche. It certainly is a wonderful system, & the class of Incurables getting well there is quite a study. All the Drs are making fortunes. I think there are eight there now, who have plenty to do with Gullys leavings.

I have today received the enclosed letter in answer to my ⁠⟨⁠section excised⁠⟩⁠

“Peas are grown extensively by the Messrs Sharp (Sleaford) and as they are considered liable to Mésalliances considerable precautions are employed to secure separation”—Gard Ch Dec 15, 8284

I noted this, the week after you had made enquiries about Leguminous Plants hybridising.5 As “in the multitude of Counsellors is wisdom” I will add my experience upon the same plant, Pease. I have grown “The Queen Pea”—a great favourite with us some ten years past, with many other sorts in Garden by them, & never find the seed deteriorate in the least, & I do not therefore believe Messrs. Sharp.

CD annotations

1.1 I am … learnings. 1.00] crossed pencil
3.00 “Peas … separation” 3.00] ‘Chapter 3.’6 added pencil


Informs CD that in his experience with peas he has never found the seed to deteriorate.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Darwin Fox
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 77: 170

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11799,” accessed on 25 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 7 (Supplement)