skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Cooper   [after 13 December 1878]1

The copy on wood is all that I can desire, but as I shd like to give a very large number of similar diagrams, I rather grudge so expensive a manner as Photographs for the more simple ones. But why Photographs shd be so expensive I cannot think

Moreover when done in this fashion my son or self wd have to make perfectly nice copies of all, & we are working so hard on experiments that we cd hardly spare the time.2 Therefore will you inform me whether you have a pantograph—or if expensive could borrow or hire one for my work, for in this case, we could soon send you a lot to copy &c &

And the more complicated diagrams & the drawing had better by copied by photography.

What is the cost of one now executed

Please answer my 2 questions, & I remain | Dear Sir | Yours f | C. D

Footnotes

The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. D. Cooper, 13 December 1878.
See letter from J. D. Cooper, 13 December 1878 and n. 1. CD’s son Francis Darwin was his assistant. Cooper was engraving images for Movement in plants.

Bibliography

Movement in plants: The power of movement in plants. By Charles Darwin. Assisted by Francis Darwin. London: John Murray. 1880.

Summary

Approves of the proof. However, his book [Movement in plants] will have a large number of diagrams so he feels only the complicated diagrams and drawings should be copied by photography.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-11792
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
James Davis Cooper
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 202: 20v
Physical description
ADraftS 2pp (on 11791)

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11792,” accessed on 25 February 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-11792.xml

letter