skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Cooper   13 December 1878

188, Strand, W.C.

Dec 13. 1878

Dear Sir

Enclosed is proof and copy of the subject you left me reduced on to the block by Photography, and trust you will find it as you desire: with regard to the method of doing them by Photo it comes rather expensive but then you get a scientific accuracy, which is of the utmost value in a work like this still.1 I shall be prepared to undertake your work on as reasonable terms as possible for good work and the average cost may enable you to employ the means I suggest. Awaiting reply.

I am | Dear Sir | Yours truly | James D Cooper

Charles Darwin Esq

Footnotes

The proof has not been found. CD employed Cooper to engrave diagrams, reducing them when necessary, for Movement in plants (see ibid., p. 7 ). Cooper had previously made engravings for Descent and Expression (see Correspondence vols. 19 and 20).

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

Movement in plants: The power of movement in plants. By Charles Darwin. Assisted by Francis Darwin. London: John Murray. 1880.

Summary

Sends CD a proof of an illustration reduced on to the block by photography. The method is expensive but scientifically accurate.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-11791
From
James Davis Cooper
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Strand, 188
Source of text
DAR 202: 20
Physical description
2pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11791,” accessed on 6 March 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-11791.xml

letter