skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To E. A. Darwin   12 December 1878


Dec 12. 78

My dear Erasmus

I think that you will be pleased to hear of a curious event & piece of good fortune wh. has just happened. A Mr. Anthony Rich of Worthing wrote to me a few days ago that he & his sister were the sole survivors of their family & that he had long entertained the sentiment that under such circumstances as his, “the first to be remembered should be those who had devoted … for the benefit of mankind &c. &c.” with more to the same effect & therefore that he had bequeathed his property after his sister’s death to me.1 The property is not of a nice kind, namely a share in houses in Cornhill, which will bring in rather above £1100 annually.2 This will be a fine addition for our children. He tells me that he is 74 years old & his sister a year younger. The whole affair has astonished me greatly & has pleased me much.

Let Horace read this & then ask him to forward it to George.3

I will write to William.4 As I am sure that Caroline will sympathise with me & wd like to hear this piece of news I ask George to forward this to Leith Hill Place as I have several letters to write5

My dear Erasmus | Yours affectionately | Ch. Darwin


Horace Darwin and George Howard Darwin were two of CD’s sons.
Caroline Sarah Wedgwood, CD’s sister, lived at Leith Hill Place, Surrey, with her husband, Josiah Wedgwood III.


Informs EAD of Anthony Rich’s proposal to bequeath his property to CD.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 153: 10
Physical description
C 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11789,” accessed on 18 May 2024,