skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Emma Darwin   [23 May 1848]



My dear M.

This lovely day makes me pine rather to be with you & the dear little ones on the lawn. Thank Willy & Annie for their very nice notes, which told me a great many things I wished to hear & they are very nicely written Give them & my dear Etty & Georgy my best love.

Many thanks, also, for your very nice letter: I can bring your Book for you perfectly. I read your note aloud about the Roman cream, thus, “do get Susan to give me also a pot of Roman cream when she gives you your annual one”. The joke has fructified & we have got them.—

My Father was very uncomfortable yesterday evening, though he played at cards, but he has had a good night & is now pretty well. I cd not help thinking yesterday, that his health was rapidly breaking up.— This place is looking lovely, but yet I could not live here; the sounds of the town & blackguards talking & want of privacy, convince me, everytime I come here, that rurality is the main element in one’s home.— There was a nice note from Eras. this morning: he is evidently half in love with Fanny Erskine:1 they say here the name Fanny is fatal to him.—2 They seem to have had a grand party at Chester Terrace,3 “Fanny Frank4 & her sister5 helped to fill the room”

Love to all | Yours | C. D.

M. Sevignè is charming.—

The Dr has talked about Willy & Annie, but says he will not invite them yet, as then he shd. feel bound to have them, but that when time is near, if he can have them, he shd. like it much: so that this part of scheme, must be quite open. Tell the children I have got a little present for each of them; even for poor Baby.—6


CD’s brother Erasmus was so devoted to Fanny Mackintosh Wedgwood that at one time Robert Waring Darwin feared that her husband, Hensleigh Wedgwood, would bring an action against Erasmus (Correspondence vol. 1, letter from Catherine Darwin, 29 May 1833).
Hensleigh and Fanny Mackintosh Wedgwood lived at 42 Chester Terrace.
Elizabeth Darwin, born 8 July 1847.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Family news. Finds Shrewsbury too noisy.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Emma Wedgwood/Emma Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 210.8: 29
Physical description
ALS 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1178,” accessed on 1 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4