skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Francis Darwin   [19 August 1878]1

My dear F.—

Will you answer this for me at once, saying that I was away from home & cd. not do so myself.—2 In table-drawer in middle of study, there is old copy of Nature with list of my books, which can be sent, but you must add (as far as I can remember) “Cross-Fertilization”— “Insectivorous Plants” & “Different Forms of Flowers” with dates.—3 Thank Heaven we shall be at home on Thursday by a little after 3: but you will have received card about carriages.—4

Yours affecty | C. Darwin

Monday | Barlaston.


The date is established by the address. The Darwins visited Barlaston, Staffordshire, the home of Emma Darwin’s brother Frank Wedgwood and his family, from 15 to 22 August 1878 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)); the only Monday during this period was 19 August.
CD’s letter was written on the verso of the letter from Hermenegildo Giner de los Ríos, 12 August 1878; CD had been asked to provide a complete bibliography of his published works.
CD’s publisher, John Murray, frequently advertised new works by CD in Nature, often including a list of earlier works. Cross and self fertilisation was published in 1876, Insectivorous plants in 1875, and Forms of flowers in 1877.
The card (postcard) has not been found; 22 August 1878 fell on Thursday.


Cross and self fertilisation: The effects of cross and self fertilisation in the vegetable kingdom. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1876.

Forms of flowers: The different forms of flowers on plants of the same species. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1877.

Insectivorous plants. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.


Asks FD to reply to a letter [11653a] requesting a list of CD’s books.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Francis Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 271.2: 4v
Physical description
ALS 1p & C

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11669,” accessed on 29 May 2023,