skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To G. H. Darwin   13 [July 1878]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.


My dear George.

I am greatly obliged for the drawings— some will do very well, but a few little alterations are requisite; which I can explain when at home.2 I will keep some specimens in spirits— I suspect one part has greatly swollen from the action of water & spirits; but the next fresh specimens which I get I will compare carefully with your drawings.—

From want of time I do not think I shall write my paper on Thalia till the autumn, so there is no hurry— I had intended writing it at once.

I very sorry to have cost you so many hours work.3

Your affect. Father | C. Darwin

I am very tired so no more.—


The month and year are established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from G. H. Darwin, 12 July 1878.
CD had asked George to make drawings of specimens of Thalia dealbata (powdery alligator-flag) that had been kept in spirits (see letter to G. H. Darwin, 10 [July 1878], and letter from G. H. Darwin, 12 July 1878). There are annotations by CD on the drawings made by George; see enclosure to letter from G. H. Darwin, 12 July 1878.
Making six drawings had taken George three to four hours (letter from G. H. Darwin, 12 July 1878).


Thanks GHD for his drawings [of Thalia]. Some parts need attention.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
George Howard Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 210.1: 71
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11603,” accessed on 9 June 2023,