skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Francis Darwin to Anton Stecker   17 March 1878

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

March 17. 1878

Dear Sir,

My father asks me to inform you that he has so few opportunities of helping you in the way you desire that he fears he cannot promise you his assistance. The appointments such as you mention are as you know very few in number, they are also much sought after.1 My fathers health is not good & from living always in the country he sees a limited number of scientific men. He sincerely regrets that he cannot help you in your object, which he fully sympathises in.

Yours faithfully | Francis Darwin

Footnotes

Stecker had asked for CD’s support in obtaining a natural history appointment (see letter from Anton Stecker to Francis Darwin, 12 March 1878). He later obtained positions on German expeditions to Africa (OBL).

Bibliography

OBL: Österreichisches biographisches Lexikon 1815–1950. Edited by Leo Santifaller et al. 15 vols. and 3 fascicles of vol. 16 (A–Zeman Antonín) to date. Vienna: Osterreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. 1957–.

Summary

Sends father’s regrets that CD will not be able to help Stecker as appointments are few in number and much sought after.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-11429F
From
Francis Darwin
To
Anton Stecker
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Physical description
ALS

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11429F,” accessed on 6 October 2022, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-11429F.xml

letter