skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Ernst Haeckel   12 February [1878]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Feb. 12th

My dear Friend

I thank you sincerely for all your most kind words & good wishes on my birth-day.2 My health has been better of late, & I am able to do every day what I consider a fair amount of work, but what you would consider a mere trifle. Considering my age it will be the more prudent course for me not to attempt to write on large & difficult subjects of a general nature, but to use my remaining strength in studying small special points, & thus to aid, as far as I can, the noble cause of science. To you & others must be left the extending & fortifying the principles of Evolution.— I am now working with the aid of my son Francis, chiefly on the growth, movements & development of seedling plants; & we have observed some new & curious facts.—3

I rejoice to hear that you are well, & that you are hard at work, about which I did not in the least doubt. As you say time time is what is wanted most.—

With all good wishes to you & yours & with many thanks | Yours very sincerely | Charles Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Ernst Haeckel, 9 February 1878.
Francis Darwin was assisting CD with his work on tropisms of cotyledons for Movement in plants.

Bibliography

Movement in plants: The power of movement in plants. By Charles Darwin. Assisted by Francis Darwin. London: John Murray. 1880.

Summary

Thanks EH for birthday greetings.

Mentions his work on movement of plants.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-11354
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Ernst-Haeckel-Haus (Bestand A-Abt. 1: 1–52/44 [9897])
Physical description
ALS 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11354,” accessed on 14 April 2024, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-11354.xml

letter