skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. K. Parker   20 January [1878]1

6. Queen Anne St

Jan. 20th

My dear Sir

I must thank you for your very kind note. When next I come to London (for engagements fill up Monday & Tuesday) we must meet.2

I do not believe that anyone in England admires your admirable & energetic labours in the cause of science more sincerely than I do.—3

Yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from W. K. Parker, 18 January 1878.
See letter from W. K. Parker, 18 January 1878. CD had called on Parker when Parker was not at home. CD was planning to visit Joseph Dalton Hooker and possibly George John Romanes on Monday 21 and Tuesday 22 January (letter to G. J. Romanes, [20 January 1878?]; letter to Asa Gray, 21 [and 22] January 1878). He left London on 23 January (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
CD cited Parker on points of comparative anatomy in Variation 1: 266 n. 71, where he referred to Parker as ‘a great authority’, and Descent 2d ed., p. 158, where he referred to Parker as ‘a most capable judge’.

Bibliography

Descent 2d ed.: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. London: John Murray. 1874.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.

Summary

Thanks for kind note, would like to meet him.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-11329
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
William Kitchen Parker
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
Te Papa Archives, Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa (CA000372/001/0001)
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11329,” accessed on 11 April 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-11329.xml

letter