skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Francis Darwin to T. F. Cheeseman   12 December 1877

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Dec 12th. 1877

Dear Sir,

My father begs me to express to you his thanks for your kindness in sending your pamphlet on Selliera.1 He has been so much interested by your letter that he has ventured to forward it for publication to Nature.2 He hopes that in the impossibility of communicating with you on the subject, you will excuse the liberty he takes in doing so.3

Dear Sir | Yours faithfully | Francis Darwin


See letter from T. F. Cheeseman, 23 October 1877. Cheeseman sent CD his paper ‘On the fertilization of Selliera’ (Cheeseman 1876); CD’s copy has not been found. Cheeseman’s observations were made on S. radicans (remuremu or swampweed).
The letter from T. F. Cheeseman, 23 October 1877, was published in Nature, 27 December 1877, pp. 163–4.
Cheeseman lived in New Zealand.


Cheeseman, Thomas Frederick. 1876. On the fertilization of Selliera. [Read before the Auckland Institute, 3 July 1876.] Transactions and Proceedings of the Royal Society of New Zealand 9: 542–5.


Writes for CD, thanking TFC for his pamphlet on Selliera. CD was so interested that he ventured to forward it to Nature for publication.

Letter details

Letter no.
Francis Darwin
Thomas Frederick Cheeseman
Sent from
Source of text
Auckland War Memorial Museum Library Tāmaki Paenga Hira (T. F. Cheeseman Papers MS 58)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11277,” accessed on 12 September 2023,