skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. E. Darwin   24 October 1877

Bank, Southampton,

Oct 24 1877

Dear Father,

Will you kindly sign enclosed letter & send me the Key of my Claythorpe title deeds which are deposited at the Union Bk.. I may want Hacon to see them.1 I will see that you have proper security for the £3000 Consols advanced to me.2

Please send Key & letter to me at

New University Club

St James Street


Your affect son | W. E. Darwin


The enclosure has not been found. William had inherited Claythorpe farm in Lincolnshire from his aunt Susan Elizabeth Darwin in 1866 (see Correspondence vol. 14, letter from E. A. Darwin, 11 October [1866] and n. 3). William Mackmurdo Hacon was CD’s solicitor.
Consol was an abbreviation of consolidated annuities, and referred to British Government bonds. CD’s Investment book (Down House MS), p. 114, records on 1 February 1869, ‘3000 Stock Transfers as a Loan to William E. Darwin he giving me the deeds of his Lincolnshire Estate as security, deposited at Union Bank’.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Asks for key and letter to be sent to him at the New University Club in London.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Erasmus Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 62)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11204F,” accessed on 29 May 2023,