skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Francis Beaufort   1 September [1831]


September the 1st.


I take the liberty of writing to you according to Mr. Peacocks desire to acquaint you with my acceptance of the offer of going with Capt Fitzroy. Perhaps you may have received a letter from Mr. Peacock, stating my refusal; this was owing to my Father not at first approving of the plan, since which time he has reconsidered the subject: & has given his consent & therefore if the appointment is not already filled up,—I shall be very happy to have the honor of accepting it.— There has been some delay owing to my being in Wales, when the letter arrived.—1 I set out for Cambridge tomorrow morning, to see Professor Henslow: & from thence will proceed immediately to London.—

I remain Sir | Your humble & obedient servant | Chas. Darwin


CD made a geological tour of North Wales with Adam Sedgwick from 5 to 20 August 1831 (see the letter from Adam Sedgwick, 4 September 1831); he and Sedgwick, however, were together for no more than about one week during this trip (see Barrett 1974, pp. 147–8). CD returned to Shrewsbury on the 29th (see letter to W. D. Fox, 6 [September 1831]), after spending some time with friends at Barmouth.


Barrett, Paul H. 1974. The Sedgwick–Darwin geologic tour of North Wales. Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society 118: 146-64.


CD accepts going with Capt. FitzRoy. Explains earlier refusal as owing to his father’s disapproval.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Francis Beaufort
Sent from
Source of text
The National Archives (TNA) (Adm 1/4541 PRO D 262)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 112,” accessed on 28 February 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1