skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. E. Darwin   5 October [1877]1


Oct 5th

My dearest Father

Thank you for your splendid present.2

No man in the world ever had a more loving father & mother than me or a happier home.

Your visit to me was my great annual pleasure and it is delightful to think that having Sara with me will make it all the pleasanter for you.3

I shall buy her a small close carriage with part of the money, but I shall hardly dare let her know the amount of the present. I have had two such happy notes from Hen. & Richard, it is a blessing what pleasure one’s own happiness gives to others.4

Dear Father | Your affectionate son | W. E. Darwin

I will write to mother from Tilgate5

Please ask her to send me there the address of the Horse buying man6


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to W. E. Darwin, 3 October [1877].
CD’s marriage present to William and his fiancée Sara Sedgwick (see letter to W. E. Darwin, 3 October [1877] and n. 2) was a cheque for 300 guineas (£315; CD’s Classed accounts (Down House MS), 3 October 1877).
CD and Emma had visited William in Southampton from 13 June to 4 July 1877 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
William had told his sister Henrietta Emma Litchfield and her husband, Richard Buckley Litchfield, about his engagement (see letter from W. E. Darwin to H. E. Litchfield, [28 September 1877] (DAR 219.8: 32)). The letters from the Litchfields to William have not been found.
Sara Sedgwick was living in Tilgate, Crawley, Sussex (see letter from W. E. Darwin to H. E. Litchfield, [28 September 1877] (DAR 219.8: 32)).
The horse-dealer has not been identified.


Thanks CD for present of £300.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Erasmus Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 210.5: 21
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11169,” accessed on 22 June 2021,