skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Francis Darwin to P. P. C. Hoek   [c. 24 June 1877]1

Basset | Southampton

Dear Sir,

My father directs me to tell you that he has written to Sir Wyville Thompson in favour of yr request, & he hopes that you may be successful2

Dear Sir | Yours faithfully | Francis Darwin

Footnotes

The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from P. P. C. Hoek to C. W. Thomson, 25 June 1877.
CD’s letter to Charles Wyville Thomson has not been found. Hoek had written to Thomson requesting duplicates of the Pycnogonida (sea-spider) specimens collected on the Challenger expedition (see letter from P. P. C. Hoek to C. W. Thomson, 25 June 1877). CD had received copies of Hoek’s recent work on sessile cirripedes and Balanus (Hoek 1875 and 1876; see Correspondence vol. 23, letter to P. P. C. Hoek, 11 March 1875, and Correspondence vol. 24, letter to P. P. C. Hoek, [after May 1876]).

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Hoek, Paulus Peronius Cato. 1875. Eerste bijdrage tot een nauwkeuriger kennis der sessile cirripedien. [Doctoral dissertation at Leiden University.] Leiden: P. Somerwil.

Summary

CD has written to [Charles] Wyville Thomson in favour of PPCH’s request [for duplicates of Pycnogonida collected by the Challenger expedition], and hopes it will be successful.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-11014F
From
Francis Darwin
To
Paulus Peronius Cato Hoek
Sent from
Basset
Source of text
Artis Library (P. P. C. Hoek Archive: Darwin correspondence)

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 11014F,” accessed on 25 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-11014F.xml

letter