skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   21 April [1877]1

2. Bryanston St

Ap. 21.

My dear Hooker

Will you give the enclosed to M. DeCandolle, if still in England.—2 If not, burn it.—

I fear that there is no ghost of a chance of seeing you here, or at 6. Q. Anne St (where we go on Tuesday Morning) any day—3 We always lunch at 1 oclock.— It would be very very pleasant to see you, but I fear there is no chance. I doubt whether I shall be able to get my steam up to go to the R. Soc. on Wednesday & I forgot to bring my card,; but I will write to Down for it.4

Ever Affectionately yours | C. Darwin


The year is established by the address and the reference to going to Queen Anne Street (see n. 3, below).
Casimir de Candolle had arrived in England in January 1877 (see letter from Alphonse de Candolle, January 1877). The enclosure has not been found.
CD visited London from 20 to 28 April 1877, staying first with his daughter and son-in-law, Henrietta Emma and Richard Buckley Litchfield, and from Tuesday 24 April, with his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
The meeting of the Royal Society of London on Thursday 26 April 1877 was chaired by Hooker (Proceedings of the Royal Society of London 26 (1877): 163). The Royal Society annual conversazione took place at Burlington House on Wednesday 25 April 1877 (Nature, 3 May 1877, p. 16); the card CD refers to was probably an invitation to the event.


CD regrets not being able to see JDH.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
London, Bryanston St, 2
Source of text
DAR 95: 439
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10935,” accessed on 23 September 2023,