skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From R. F. Cooke   12 April 1877

50A, Albemarle Street, London, W.

April 12 1877

My dear Sir

Your parcel has safely come to hand & has gone to Clowes’.1

Mr Murray will have much pleasure in publishing this new work at his own expense & on the same terms as he has done with your recent works.2

I believe you do not wish the work announced for the present.3

May you have fine weather for your short holiday.4

Yours faithfully | Robt. Cooke

Chas. Darwin Esq


CD had sent the manuscript of Forms of flowers (see letter to R. F. Cooke, 11 April 1877).
John Murray usually advertised CD’s forthcoming works in the press (see, for example, Correspondence vol. 24, Supplement, letter to A. R. Wallace, 21 October 1869 and n. 4).
CD visited London from 20 to 28 April 1877 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Forms of flowers: The different forms of flowers on plants of the same species. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1877.


JM will be pleased to publish the new work [Forms of flowers] on the usual terms. MS has been sent to the printer.

Letter details

Letter no.
Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50a
Source of text
DAR 171: 487
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10927,” accessed on 7 June 2023,