skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. E. Darwin   4 April 1877

Bank, Southampton,

Ap 4 1877

My dear Father,

I send Mr Fox’s reply which I fancy will be sufficient for you.1 I have just heard from the lawyer. If you will send me a cheque (payable to me) for £477— it settle the payment of the land.2

I am paying him today.

I hope the bothering Spottiswoode did not keep you long in a state of waiting.3

Your affect son | W E. Darwin

P.S. the lawyer’s Bill will come afterwards

CD annotations

End of letter: ‘House [‘30’ pencil del blue crayon] t’ pencil; ‘40’ blue crayon


William enclosed a letter from William Darwin Fox of 3 April [1877]. Fox had replied to a query from CD on Pulmonaria (the genus of lungworts; see letter from W. D. Fox, 3 April [1877] and n. 2).
CD recorded a payment of £477 on 5 April 1877 with the notation ‘W. E. Darwin for Beesby Farm (Invested)’ in his Account books–banking account (Down House MS). CD had owned Beesby Farm in Lincolnshire since 1845 (see Correspondence vol. 3). The lawyer has not been identified.
The reference to ‘the bothering Spottiswoode’ (William Spottiswoode) has not been identified.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Arrangements about a purchase of land.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Erasmus Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 61)
Physical description
ALS 3pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10923F,” accessed on 13 September 2023,