skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Richard Kippist   19 March 1877

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | (Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.)

March 19th. 1877

Sir

I beg that you will be so good as to lay the following request before the Council of the Linnean Soc.— I wish to republish my papers on dimorphic & trimorphic plants, which appeared in the Proceedings, & should therefore be greatly obliged for the four wood-blocks, or for stereotypes from them, which accompanied my papers. I append on the next page a list of the four.1 Should my request be granted, I beg that the blocks be sent to Mr. Murray of Albemarle St, marked outside “for Mr Darwin”.2

Sir | I have the honour to remain | Your obliged & obednt. servant | Charles Darwin

Journal of Proceedings of Linn Soc Bot Vol VI 1862. Cuts p 78 & 90.

Vol VII 1863 Bot Cut p79

Vol VIII 1864 cuts p171

Footnotes

CD was reworking material from his papers published in the Journal of the Proceedings of the Linnean Society (Botany) for Forms of flowers. The illustrations appeared in ‘Dimorphic condition in Primula, pp. 78 and 90, ‘Two forms in species of Linum, p. 79, and ‘Three forms of Lythrum salicaria, p. 171. Kippist was librarian of the Linnean Society.
John Murray, CD’s publisher, had premises at 50A Albemarle Street, London.

Bibliography

‘Dimorphic condition in Primula’: On the two forms, or dimorphic condition, in the species of Primula, and on their remarkable sexual relations. By Charles Darwin. [Read 21 November 1861.] Journal of the Proceedings of the Linnean Society (Botany) 6 (1862): 77–96. [Collected papers 2: 45–63.]

Forms of flowers: The different forms of flowers on plants of the same species. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1877.

‘Three forms of Lythrum salicaria’: On the sexual relations of the three forms of Lythrum salicaria. By Charles Darwin. [Read 16 June 1864.] Journal of the Linnean Society (Botany) 8 (1865): 169–96. [Collected papers 2: 106–31.]

‘Two forms in species of Linum’: On the existence of two forms, and on their reciprocal sexual relation, in several species of the genus Linum. By Charles Darwin. [Read 5 February 1863.] Journal of the Proceedings of the Linnean Society (Botany) 7 (1864): 69–83. [Collected papers 2: 93–105.]

Summary

Wishes to reprint his four Linnean Society papers on di- and trimorphic plants [Forms of flowers]. Requests permission and woodblocks of figures.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10902
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Richard Kippist; Linnean Society
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Linnean Society of London
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10902,” accessed on 17 May 2022, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-10902.xml

letter