skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. V. Carus   22 January 1877

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Jan 22. 1877

My dear Sir,

Very many thanks for the errata, & more especially for the interesting & very amusing notes on expression.1 These will be of use to me if a new edit is ever required; but this is doubtful, as before the 7000 copies were all sold Murray foolishly printed 2000 additional, many of which yet remain.2

As soon as I hear from Koch I will write to Smith & Elder.3

I am very glad to hear that you are going to the Zoolog: Statione at Naples, as I should think that you will find it very interesting, & I sincerely hope that the climate may suit your health.4 My health has been better of late, so that I am able to work several hours daily, but I never pass a whole day in comfort, & this is a feeling I daresay you well know. I am at present preparing a small book with my papers on Dimorphic & Trimorphic plants, & other allied subjects.5

With all good wishes, yours very sincerely, | Charles Darwin

P.S. | “Prising” only means lifting up an object with the end of a lever, for instance forcing open the lid of a box with a tool driven in under it6


No new edition of Expression was published by John Murray in CD’s lifetime. The second edition of Expression, edited by Francis Darwin, contained material collected by CD (see Expression 2d ed., p. iii).
See letter from J. V. Carus, 20 January 1877 and n. 1. Carus did not think that Eduard Koch, CD’s German publisher, would require maps from Smith, Elder & Co. for the German edition of Geological observations 2d ed. (Carus trans. 1877a and 1878b).
See letter from J. V. Carus, 20 January 1877; see also Cross and self fertilisation, p. 155. CD had referred to finding a flower with the stamen ‘prised up’.


Cross and self fertilisation: The effects of cross and self fertilisation in the vegetable kingdom. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1876.

‘Dimorphic condition in Primula’: On the two forms, or dimorphic condition, in the species of Primula, and on their remarkable sexual relations. By Charles Darwin. [Read 21 November 1861.] Journal of the Proceedings of the Linnean Society (Botany) 6 (1862): 77–96. [Collected papers 2: 45–63.]

Expression 2d ed.: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. Edited by Francis Darwin. London: John Murray. 1890.

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

Forms of flowers: The different forms of flowers on plants of the same species. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1877.

Freeman, Richard Broke. 1977. The works of Charles Darwin: an annotated bibliographical handlist. 2d edition. Folkestone, Kent: William Dawson & Sons. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, Shoe String Press.

Geological observations 2d ed.: Geological observations on the volcanic islands and parts of South America visited during the voyage of H.M.S. ‘Beagle’. By Charles Darwin. London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1876.

‘Illegitimate offspring of dimorphic and trimorphic plants’: On the character and hybrid-like nature of the offspring from the illegitimate unions of dimorphic and trimorphic plants. By Charles Darwin. [Read 20 February 1868.] Journal of the Linnean Society of London (Botany) 10 (1869): 393–437.

‘Three forms of Lythrum salicaria’: On the sexual relations of the three forms of Lythrum salicaria. By Charles Darwin. [Read 16 June 1864.] Journal of the Linnean Society (Botany) 8 (1865): 169–96. [Collected papers 2: 106–31.]


Thanks JVC for errata [in Cross and self-fertilisation]

and especially for interesting and amusing notes on expression. Will use them if a new edition [of Expression] is needed, but Murray has printed too many copies of first edition.

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10809,” accessed on 13 July 2024,