skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [25 March 1847]1



My dear Hooker

I am so stomachy today that I have not heart or courage for the exertion of London & Kew.— I hope & trust I cannot have put you to any inconvenience.

Thanks for your note yesterday; I will in two days get all my Nulliporæ together & send them by next Carrier, ie Wednesday night to Mrs Reeve.—2

I shall be up to the Geolog. on the 14th of April & shall stay in London, if able, some days for I have much to do & will then come to Kew for a day.

Ever yours | rather wretchedly | C. Darwin


For the basis of the date see the letter to J. D. Hooker, [23 March 1847], n. 1.
Reeve Brothers, the publishing firm and natural history dealers owned by Lovell Augustus Reeve. The seaweed specimens were to be forwarded to William Henry Harvey, the Irish algologist, for identification and description. See letter to J. D. Hooker, 7 April [1847], and letter to William Henry Harvey, [7 April 1847]. Hooker was at this time compiling a list of Tasmanian seaweeds in association with Harvey (J. D. Hooker and Harvey 1847).


Harvey, William Henry. 1847. Nereis Australis, or algae of the Southern Ocean: being figures and descriptions of marine plants, collected on the shores of the Cape of Good Hope, the extra-tropical Australian colonies, Tasmania, New Zealand, and the Antarctic regions; deposited in the herbarium of the Dublin University. London.


Health bad, cannot get to Kew.

Will send Nulliporae to [L. A.?] Reeve.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 85
Physical description
ALS 3pp & C

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1076,” accessed on 8 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4