skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From George Henslow   24 October 1876

7 Bentinck Terrace | Regents Park | N.W

Oct 24 76

My dear Sir,

I beg to thank you very sincerely for your kind letter, & for the offer of your book, which I shall be proud to accept & have great pleasure in reading.1 I am much obliged for yr. remarks about the temperature affecting the protandry & protogyny of flowers, & I will observe, next year, with special reference to this fact.2

With reference to “dwarfed” flowers: as I stated in my paper; I, at present, do not feel justified in doing more than “suspecting”; as I have had no opportunity of protecting such flowers, nor of seeing whether they produce much fruit, like the regularly self-fertilising species.—

I have to thank you for kindly enquiring after my health. I am happy to say I now enjoy excellent health tho’ paralysis still lingers in a mild form.3

Believe me to be | yrs very faithfully | George Henslow

Footnotes

Henslow had fallen ill in 1873, and believed his paralysis to be due to a fatty degeneration of the nervous tissues (see Correspondence vol. 21, letters from J. D. Hooker, 11 April 1873 and 16 September 1873).

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Cross and self fertilisation: The effects of cross and self fertilisation in the vegetable kingdom. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1876.

Summary

Thanks for CD’s book [Cross and self-fertilisation] and information on protandry and protogyny.

Health better, but paralysis lingers.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10652
From
George Henslow
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Bentinck Terrace, 7
Source of text
DAR 166: 174
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10652,” accessed on 24 February 2020, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-10652.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24

letter