skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. V. Carus   18 October [1876]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R. [Bassett, Southampton.]

Oct 18th

My dear Sir

I am sorry to hear of the loss.— I directed the sheets myself & am sure that there was no error. But I do not understand whether it is the first or second lot which is lost.2 Therefore will you kindly tell me what sheets you actually possess? I return home on the 20th.3

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

I have other sheets ready but I suppose you are not in a hurry


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to J. V. Carus, 25 October 1876.
Carus’s letter has not been found. CD sent the second set of proof-sheets of Cross and self fertilisation with his letter to J. V. Carus of [early October 1876]); he had sent the first set with his letter of 27 September 1876.
CD was in Southampton visiting William Erasmus Darwin (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).


Cross and self fertilisation: The effects of cross and self fertilisation in the vegetable kingdom. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1876.


Proof sheets [of Cross and self-fertilisation] have been lost.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Julius Victor Carus
Sent from
Bassett Down letterhead
Source of text
Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 68–69)
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10645,” accessed on 4 October 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24