skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Auguste Daubrée   10 May 1876

Down, | Beckenham, Kent

May 10. 76

Dear Sir

I am very much obliged for the honour of your letter of May 4th, and for the Memoir which you have addressed to me; but I much regret that it has never reached me.1 I am very sorry for this, as the foliation of rocks formerly interested me greatly, and there can be no doubt that you will throw a flood of light on this whole subject, as on so many other subjects. If however your essay has been addressed to the Geolog: Soc of London, it may not be lost, as parcels are generally transmitted to me from the Society in a bundle.

With the highest respect | I remain | dear Sir | Yours faithfully | & obliged | Charles Darwin


Daubrée’s letter of 4 May 1876 has not been found, but his memoir on schistose foliation in rocks that had undergone intense metamorphism (Daubrée 1876) is in the Darwin Pamphlet Collection–CUL. CD had discussed foliation in South America, pp. 165–6; in 1876, he was preparing a second edition of South America (published as part of Geological observations 2d ed.), but he made no mention of Daubrée’s work.


Daubrée, Auguste. 1876. Expériences sur la schistosité des roches et sur les déformations des fossiles, corrélatives de ce phénomène; conséquences géologiques de ces expériences. [Read 27 March and 10 April 1876.] Comptes rendus hebdomadaires des séances de l’Académie des sciences 82: 710–16, 798–804.

Geological observations 2d ed.: Geological observations on the volcanic islands and parts of South America visited during the voyage of H.M.S. ‘Beagle’. By Charles Darwin. London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1876.

South America: Geological observations on South America. Being the third part of the geology of the voyage of the Beagle, under the command of Capt. FitzRoy RN, during the years 1832 to 1836. By Charles Darwin. London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1846.


Thanks AD for sending a memoir on foliation of rocks ["Expériences sur la schistosité des roches", C. R. Hebd. Acad. Sci. 82 (1876): 710–16, 798–804]. Regrets to say that it never reached him.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Gabriel-Auguste (Auguste) Daubrée
Sent from
Source of text
Institut de France, Bibliothèque (Ms 2423 A f. 67)
Physical description
LS 2pp & cov

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10504,” accessed on 4 October 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24