skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Edward Frankland   27 April [1876]1

6 Queen Anne St | Cavendish Squ W.

Ap. 27th.

My dear Sir

You will remember that you twice allowed me to call on you early in the morning & gave me valuable advice & other help.2 Now I want much to ask you two questions, which at the utmost will not take more than 14 of hour. Will you be so kind as to let me come again & fix any morning of the next few days3 i.e. on Saturday, or Sunday, or Monday or Tuesday. We go back home early on Wednesday.?

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the description of CD’s visit in Margaret Frankland’s diary; see n. 3, below.
CD had previously visited Frankland on 15 November 1873 (Correspondence vol. 21, letter to J. S. Burdon Sanderson, 15 November [1873]) and probably in April 1874 (Correspondence vol. 22, letter to Edward Frankland, 22 April [1874]) to discuss his experiments on the digestive fluid of insectivorous plants.
CD was in London from Thursday 27 April until Wednesday 3 May 1876 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). According to Margaret Frankland’s diary (see Russell 1996, pp. 331–2), he visited Frankland on Sunday 30 April 1876. CD’s questions were about the chemical composition of soil; see letter to Francis Darwin, [30 April 1876].

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Russell, Colin Archibald. 1996. Edward Frankland: chemistry, controversy and conspiracy in Victorian England. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Summary

Requests permission to call upon EF any morning from Saturday through Tuesday.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10480A
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Edward Frankland
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
The John Rylands Library, The University of Manchester
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10480A,” accessed on 19 April 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-10480A.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24

letter