skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   26 April [1876]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Ap. 26th

My dear Dyer

I have had a letter from L. Tait about his accursed paper which has quite melted my heart, he takes the affair so humbly.2 Hooker told me names of papers on structure of Nepenthes, viz Korthal or some such name(?) Griffith & some Germans.3 Now L. Tait wants the titles much. Will you be so very kind as to give me them? Tell Hooker, he is also very anxious to hear the objections of the physiological referee.—4 I was to have gone to 6 Queen Anne St this morning, but have been too unwell to do anything, except write this note.—5

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Lawson Tait, 25 April [1876].
CD stayed with his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin, at 6 Queen Anne Street, London, from 27 April until 3 May 1876 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).


Korthals, Pieter Willem. 1839–44. Over het geslacht Nepenthes. In Verhandelingen over de natuurlijke geschiedenis der Nederlandsche overzeesche bezittingen, door de Leden der Natuurkundige Commissie in Indië en andere Schrijvers, edited by Coenraad Jacob Temminck. Leiden: S. and J. Luchtmans and C. C. van der Hoek.


Asks for titles of papers on structure of Nepenthes for use by R. L. Tait. Mentions paper by RLT.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Sent from
Source of text
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Thiselton-Dyer, W.T., Letters from Charles Darwin 1873–81: 62–3)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10477,” accessed on 24 May 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24