skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To William Robinson   10 January [1876?]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Jan. 10th

Dear Sir

I am much obliged for your very kind offer of sending me the Garden.2 I have great scruples in accepting it, partly because I have not much strength for reading & can hardly get through the periodicals which I now take in & papers which I must read.— But I will gratefully accept your offer for the next half-year ie. till July 1st., & then if I find that I have time generally to read it, I will take it in for myself.— I wish that I had more strength.—

Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin

I perfectly remember your pleasant visit here.—3


The year is conjectured from the relationship between this letter and the letter to William Robinson, 4 January 1876.
Robinson founded the Garden, a weekly illustrated horticultural magazine, in 1871, and earlier in January 1876 sent six complimentary copies of an issue containing CD’s portrait and an article about him (see letter to William Robinson, 4 January 1876). No copies of the Garden belonging to CD have been found.
No record of Robinson’s visit to Down has been found; he exchanged letters with CD in 1864 and 1866 (Correspondence vols. 12 and 14).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Accepts WR’s offer of copies of the Garden for the next half-year.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Robinson
Sent from
Source of text
John Wilson (dealer) (5 May 2008)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10350,” accessed on 4 October 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24