skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Murray   22 November [1875]1

50, Albemarle St. | W.

Novr 22

My Dear Sir

In consequence of your note I now enclose cheques for £130" £560" & £63" for Editions of your 3 Works2 Of “Origin” were printed 2000 copies in March 1873—settled for with cheque for £180"

The present Edn. of 1500 was printed March 1875—3

Of Insectivorous Plants”, I propose to throw off 500 before distributing. Please excuse the mistake in writing “Climbing”4

With comps & best wishes for your health I remain My Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | John Murray

Chas Darwin Esqr


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to John Murray, 20 November 1875.
The cheques were for CD’s share of the profits for Origin 6th ed., Insectivorous plants, and Climbing plants 2d ed. (see letter to John Murray, 20 November 1875). CD recorded deposits for these amounts in his Account books–banking account (Down House MS) on 23 November 1875.


Climbing plants 2d ed.: The movements and habits of climbing plants. 2d edition. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Insectivorous plants. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.

Origin 6th ed.: The origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. 6th edition, with additions and corrections. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Sends cheques in payment on three of CD’s books.

Proposes to print 500 copies of Insectivorous plants before distributing the type.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50
Source of text
DAR 171: 478
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10270,” accessed on 29 May 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23