skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Lawson Tait   20 November [1875]1

7, Great Charles St. | Birmingham.

Novr. 20

My Dear Sir,

I have just finished my paper.2

It remains to be fair-copied, but that will take only a few days. It is longer than I expected, facts have such a habit of accumulating, but I have made it as succinct as possible.

Shall I send it to you or to the Society? In the event of your wanting to read it might I suggest that I could save you the labour by reading it to you. I shall be in town on Friday night, having to lecture on Sunday, and I could bring it with me to Down on Saturday forenoon and read it to you. I need not say how much I should like to have your opinion of it. I think I could read it in an hour to you but I trust you will not bore yourself with it. The abstract which will accompany it will give you most of the conclusions.

Yours truly, | Lawson Tait

Footnotes

The year is established by the reference to Tait’s paper for the Royal Society of London (see n. 2, below).
Tait had been working on a paper on the tropical pitcher-plant, Nepenthes; CD had agreed to send it to the Royal Society for possible publication (see letter to J. D. Hooker, 15 October [1875] and n. 2).

Summary

His paper [for Royal Society] is completed; would CD like to read it?

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10268
From
Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Birmingham
Source of text
DAR 178: 24
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10268,” accessed on 14 June 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-10268.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23

letter