skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From R. F. Cooke   16 November 1875

50a, Albemarle Street, London. W.

Nov. 16 1875

My dear Sir

A set of Electrotypes of the woodcuts in “Climbing Plants” can be had for £3.0.0. & I have ordered to sets to be taken.

The woodcuts are electrotyped & inserted in the stereotype plates & will be done so, in the new edition of “Animals & Plants” & it would confuse not to have them done so now, for Appletons.1

I have ordered the stereotypes to be made & we will take care that they shall have them at a reasonable figure. Insectivorous Plants is still standing in type. Have you any corrections to make, if not we will stereotype that work like all the rest, except the Orchids & Expression.2

Yours faithfully | Robt. Cooke

Chas. Darwin Esq

Footnotes

CD was arranging with the US publisher D. Appleton & Co. for American editions of Climbing plants 2d ed. and Variation 2d ed. (see letter to R. F. Cooke, 9 November [1875] and n. 5.
Permanent stereotype plates were made from the original moveable type plates, reducing the cost of reprints but making substantial revisions to the text impossible. Second editions of Orchids and Expression were published by John Murray in 1877 and 1890, respectively.

Bibliography

Climbing plants 2d ed.: The movements and habits of climbing plants. 2d edition. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Variation 2d ed.: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1875.

Summary

Electrotypes of woodcuts in Climbing plants [2d ed.]

and Variation [2d ed.] for Appleton.

Asks CD whether he has any corrections for Insectivorous plants before stereotypes are made.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10260
From
Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50a
Source of text
DAR 171: 477
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10260,” accessed on 25 September 2020, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-10260.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23

letter