skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From G. H. Darwin   [after 28 March 1876]1

6 Queen Ann St.


Dear Father,

The Twin-papers Sent by Galton were intended to make good the loss of the Anthropo. Journal, & I do not want them.2

Uncle Ras3 is pretty brisk & was out driving yesterday

I was so very unwell yesterday & am so today that I’m afraid I shall have to give up my party at the Cooksons today.4 I fear I shan’t get up to the mark for a week or so more as it’s settled on to my liver & digestion in its usual obstinate way.

Remind mother about the B♭ in Leo’s5 room; I was reminded of it by the pleasures of the choir last night

Yours affec | G. H. Darwin


The date is established by the reference to Francis Galton’s two papers on twins, and by the date of George Howard Darwin’s return from Malta (see n. 2, below).
Galton’s papers on twins were published in the Journal of the Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland in January 1876 (Galton 1875b and 1876); they were an expansion and revision of a previous article published in Fraser’s Magazine (Galton 1875a). CD had apparently stopped taking the Journal of the Anthropological Institute, as copies only up to 1875 are in the Darwin Library–CUL. Reprints of Galton 1875b and 1876 are in the Darwin Pamphlet Collection–CUL. George was away in Malta from early January 1876, returning on 28 March (letter from Emma Darwin to Leonard Darwin, 9 January 1876 (DAR 239.23: 1.40); Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
Blanche Alethea Elizabeth and Montague Hughes Cookson; George had met them on previous occasions (see Correspondence vol. 23, letter from G. H. Darwin, [26 October 1875] and n. 5).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Personal news – is unwell.

Mentions "Twin-papers" ["Short notes on heredity, etc., in twins", J. Anthropol. Inst. 5 (1876): 324–9] sent by Galton.

Letter details

Letter no.
George Howard Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
DAR 210.2: 50
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10242,” accessed on 31 March 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 24