skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. H. Huxley   2 November 1875

4 Marlborough Place | N.W

Novr. 2. 1875

My dear Darwin

Our Secretary has telegraphed to you to Down & written to Queen Anne St1 But to make sure I send this note to say that we expect you at 13 Delahay St at 2 o’clock tomorrow2 And that I have looked out the highest chair that was to be got for you!

Ever | Yours very faithfully | T. H. Huxley


CD had agreed to appear before the Royal Commission on vivisection (see letter to T. H. Huxley, 1 November [1875]). The secretary to the Royal Commission was Nathaniel Baker (Report of the Royal Commission on vivisection, p. xxi); his letter to CD has not been found.
Thirteen Delahay Street, Westminster, London, had been used for previous Royal Commissions (Post Office London directory 1875).


Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.

Report of the Royal Commission on vivisection: Report of the Royal Commission on the practice of subjecting live animals to experiments for scientific purposes; with minutes of evidence and appendix; 1876 (C.1397, C.1397-1) XLI.277, 689. House of Commons Parliamentary Papers.


Arrangements for CD’s appearance before Vivisection Commission.

Letter details

Letter no.
Thomas Henry Huxley
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Marlborough Place, 4
Source of text
DAR 166: 344
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10236,” accessed on 5 March 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23