skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To ?   18 August 1875

Down, | Beckenham, Kent, | Railway Station | Orpington, S.E.R.

Aug. 18/75

Dear Sir

I am much obliged to you for your kindness in having sent me the photographs of the various disks of stone. I will not trespass on your kindness by accepting the casts, as I am not likely ever again to attend to the subject of experience.1

I will send the photographs to my neighbour Sir J. Lubbock who from his studies will be better able to appreciate them, than I can.2

Pray believe me dear Sir | Yours faithfully | (sig.) Charles Darwin

Footnotes

The copyist may have misread ‘expression’ as ‘experience’; CD published Expression in 1872. The stone discs have not been identified.
John Lubbock, whose country seat was at High Elms, near Down, had published on prehistoric archaeology (see, for example, Lubbock 1865).

Bibliography

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

Lubbock, John. 1865a. Pre-historic times, as illustrated by ancient remains, and the manners and customs of modern savages. London and Edinburgh: Williams & Norgate.

Summary

Thanks for the photographs of disks of stone, but not to trouble to send casts, as he will not work on expression again.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10124F
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Unidentified
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Ernst-Haeckel-Haus (Bestand A-Abt. 1: 3269/1)
Physical description
C 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10124F,” accessed on 26 September 2022, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-10124F.xml

letter