skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From G. H. Darwin to William Clowes & Sons   11 July 1875

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Sunday July 11. 75


Darwin’s Insect: Plants

Further errata

p. 271 line 8 from bottom
for “a little less than the one— ”
read “a little more … ”
p 301. 1st. line of small type
for 2.544 read 2.540
p. 372 line 14.
for 2.794 read 2.795
p 373 “experiment 7,” line 4
for 2.794 read 2.795
& 3rd line above “experiment 7”
for 1.69 read 1.70
p 375. 4th. line above “experiment 14”
for 5.588 read 5.5901

Please be so good as to correct these or insert them in the errata

Also if you shd. not have printed off this part already

p 270 first word of last line
The a of “ample” has dropped out
p 287 under the figure it should be
Dionæa and not Dionœa

but do not insert these last two amongst the errata, as they are too insignificant.2

Yours faithfully | George Darwin


The second printing of Insectivorous plants had an errata slip that included these and additional corrections. For the second printing, see the letter from R. F. Cooke, 3 July 1875.
These two corrections were made in the text.


Insectivorous plants. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.


Sends errata for Insectivorous plants 2d printing.

Letter details

Letter no.
George Howard Darwin
William Clowes & Sons
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 86: B24
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10056F,” accessed on 19 May 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23