skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. S. Henslow   [5 October 1846]

Down Farnborough Kent

Monday Morning

My dear Henslow

In a few days’ time my third & last Part of the Geology of the Voyage of the Beagle, viz on S. America will be published, & I want to know how I can send you a copy. I take shame to myself that the others were not sent, for I consider that you have a right to them.1 Have you any house of call, where your parcels accumulate?

I am very sorry & so is my wife that your scheme of paying us, a little visit on your way to Mr Jenyns broke down.—2 I shd. have much enjoyed having you here. I was at Southampton & saw there L. Jenyns: I did not think he was looking at all well; sadly too thin: I was very glad to hear from him, that Mrs. Henslow was a little better. L. Jenyn’s new book appears a very nice one, as far as I have read.—3 I wish you had been at Southampton; there was a capital congregation of naturalists & I saw many old friends & was introduced to many new acquaintances. Altogether we enjoyed (for my wife was with me) our week exceedingly, & took some little excursion, especially one to Winchester Cathedral. I think I shall certainly attend the Oxford meeting4 & no doubt you will be there.

You cannot think how delighted I feel at having finished all my Beagle materials, except some invertebrata: it is now 10 years since my return, & your words, which I thought preposterous, are come true, that it wd take twice the number of years to describe, that it took to collect & observe.

Farewell my dear Henslow, how I wish that I lived nearer to you | Yours most truly | C. Darwin


Coral reefs and Volcanic islands.
George Leonard Jenyns, Henslow’s father-in-law.
Jenyns 1846. See letter to Leonard Jenyns, 17 October [1846], for CD’s comments on the book.
The seventeenth meeting of the British Association was scheduled to take place in Oxford in June 1847. CD did attend (see ‘Journal’; Correspondence vol. 4, Appendix II, and de Beer ed. 1959, p. 11).


The third and last part of the Geology [South America] will be published in a few days. Apologises for not sending JSH the other volumes.

Has attended Southampton [BAAS] meeting.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Stevens Henslow
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 93: A15–A16
Physical description
4pp & C

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1005,” accessed on 19 September 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3