skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   7 July 1875

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

July 7 1875

My dear Professor Dyer

I am now in the midst of correcting the “Variation” & shall be extremely obliged for any corrections & notes;1 but I want to avoid making the book larger, by adding any thing which is not important.

I have long wished to become acquainted with Professor Lancaster, & I shall be very happy if you & he will come here on some Sunday towards the end of the month.2 There is a train which leaves Charing X at 2.30 & I hope you will sleep here & we will send you to the station the next morning.

Will you be so good as to give me some days notice, as relations sometimes fill our house on a Sunday.

As I should be extremely sorry to appear ungracious to Prof. Lancaster, I hope that you will tell him that I am incapable of talking with friends for more than a short time

Pray believe me | yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

CD began work on Variation 2d ed. on 6 July 1875 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
Thiselton-Dyer and Edwin Ray Lankester visited Down on Sunday 18 July 1875 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).

Bibliography

Variation 2d ed.: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1875.

Summary

Discusses corrections to Variation.

Extends invitation to E. Ray Lankester to visit Down.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10046
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Thiselton-Dyer, W.T., Letters from Charles Darwin 1873–81: 23–4)
Physical description
LS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10046,” accessed on 27 September 2022, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-10046.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23

letter