skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Lawson Tait   12 June [1875]1 

7, Great Charles St. | Birmingham.

June 12

2nd. Note.

My Dear Sir,

Your letter has just arrived, after the posting of my first.2

I am really ashamed that you should take up so much of your time in answering my letters. My only excuse for troubling you at all is that younger workers must reap in the great field that you have sown.

Many thanks for the references.3 I shall hunt them up.

I purpose sending you a paper on some of my histological work as it contains some hints for working that may prove useful to your son.4 It will be printed in a day or two

The hint you gave me about the hair is very valuable.5 Have the whiskers of the Felidae6 ever been fully worked out? If not I shall include them.

Yours faithfully, | Lawson Tait


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to Lawson Tait, 11 June [1875].
See letter to Lawson Tait, 11 June [1875], and first letter from Lawson Tait, 12 June [1875].
It is not certain which of CD’s sons is referred to; CD had mentioned William Erasmus Darwin in his letter of 11 June [1875], but only Francis Darwin would have undertaken any histological work. Tait probably sent a copy of his paper on freezing and staining techniques (Tait 1875c), but it has not been found in the Darwin Archive–CUL.
CD had mentioned Josef Schöbel’s research on the sensitivity of the hairs in the ears of mice (see letter to Lawson Tait, 11 June [1875] and n. 5).
Felidae is the family of cats.


Intends sending a paper containing some of his histological work [see "Freezing process for section-cutting; … staining and mounting sections", J. Anat. & Physiol. 9 (1875): 249–58].

Letter details

Letter no.
Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 178: 10
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10016,” accessed on 25 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23