skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Joseph Fayrer   6 July 1874

16 Granville Place

6 July 1874

My dear Sir

I will take the earliest opportunity of trying the experiments you suggest; which so far from being superfluous are of great interest: If any other should occur to you please let me know and I will as far as possible, make them.1 I will give Dr Brunton your message the next time I see him.2

I am sending you a copy of my book on the poisonous Snakes of India to look at. Any time when you are coming to London will be time enough to return it.3 I should be gratified to know that you thought it of use— The object is set forth in the preface.4 I worked at the subject for about 4 years & thus I presented the work to the Govt of India for the benefit of the country— It is now distributed throughout great part of India & will I hope do good

Yours very truly | J. Fayrer


See letter to Joseph Fayrer, 4 July [1874] and nn. 5 and 6. Fayrer refers to Thomas Lauder Brunton.
A new, expanded edition of Fayrer’s book, Thanatophidia of India (Fayrer 1872), was published in February 1874 (Fayrer 1874; see Publishers’ circular, 2 March 1874, p. 138). CD was in London briefly for the wedding of Francis Darwin and Amy Ruck on 23 July 1874; his next visit to London was from 3 to 12 December 1874 (see ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
Fayrer wrote that the object of his book was to supply reliable information on the venomous snakes of India (Fayrer 1872, p. vii).


Will do experiments CD suggests.

Is sending his book on the poisonous snakes of India [The Thanatophidia of India (1872)].

Letter details

Letter no.
Joseph Fayrer, 1st baronet
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Granville Place, 16
Source of text
DAR 164: 110
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9534,” accessed on 27 June 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22