skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. V. Carus   17 June [1874]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

June 17th

My dear Sir

My second son, George Darwin is going partly for health sake to stay some weeks or months in Germany, & will stay some little time in Leipzig & perhaps in Dresden.2 He is not a naturalist, but a mathematician.—

Now if you could give him one or two introductions to residents in Leipzig it would be a very great kindness to him & to me. You must not, however, trouble yourself, if you cannot easily think of anyone.—

I sent you the other day a copy of “Coral Reefs”, I have urged Printers to send revised sheets of Descent, but have not yet received one.3 As usual I fancy they do not finally correct the sheets till many are ready.—

My dear Sir | Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

P.S. I have just discovered that I had misunderstood my son’s plans. He goes to Dresden first, & hopes, if his health permits, to return by Leipzig. Now I fear that it a mere chance whether you can give him a letter to anyone at Dresden. As far as I can remember I have not corresponded with any naturalist at Dresden.—


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to J. V. Carus, 21 January 1874 (see n. 3, below).
George Howard Darwin left for Holland on 18 June and returned home on 11 July 1874 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
Carus was preparing a German translation of Descent 2d ed. (Carus trans. 1875a; see letter to J. V. Carus, 23 May [1874]). Descent 2d ed. was being printed by William Clowes & Sons. CD had also approached him about a German translation of the recently published second edition of Coral reefs (letter to J. V. Carus, 21 January 1874).


Asks JVC if he can provide introductions in Leipzig and Dresden for his son George.

Has not yet received any revised sheets of Descent [2d English ed.].

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9495,” accessed on 19 July 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22