skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To T. H. Huxley   [17] December [1872]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Dec. 16

My dear Huxley

We have both been bad & trying for a week to come to London, & start today.2 I had intended being in London on a Sunday so as to pay you my morning visit, but this is now doubtful.—3 I have nothing particular to say, but shd. very much like to see you for 14 of hour.— Will you therefore let me have a Post card, soon telling me at what hour you generally reach Jermyn St,4 & let me call there some early day at an early hour.

Ever yours | Very misanthropically | Ch. Darwin

If tomorrow would suit you, I wd try & call.— But if tomorrow inconvenient I wd call another early day.

Footnotes

The day and year are established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from T. H. Huxley, 20 December 1872, and by CD’s arrival in London on 17 December 1872 (see ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). CD mistakenly dated the letter 16 December.
For CD’s attempts to get to London, see the letter to A. R. Wallace, 14 December [1872?] and n. 4. Emma Darwin recorded that she was ill with a cold from 8 December and that CD’s cough and cold were very bad from 12 December (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).
Although CD’s journal (Appendix II) records that he was in London until 23 December, Emma Darwin noted in her diary (DAR 242) that she and CD came home on Sunday 22 December.
Huxley was lecturer in natural history and palaeontology at the Government School of Mines on Jermyn Street, Piccadilly.

Summary

Plans to see THH in London.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-8682
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Thomas Henry Huxley
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 308)
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8682,” accessed on 17 June 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-8682

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20

letter