skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Francis Galton   29 July 1872

42 Rutland Gate | SW

July 29/72

My dear Darwin

May I lunch with you on Thursday and arrange about rabbits?1

We shall then be staying for 2 days in your neighbourhood, at

Mrs. Brandram

Hayes Common2

Your letter reached me just before we were leaving town for a Saturday & Sunday visit & I did not reply at once, waiting to be sure about our engagements.3

If I don’t receive a post card at above address to say ‘no’ I will come4

Ever sincerely yrs. | Francis Galton

The spiritualists have given up; I fear I can’t get another invite to a scéance.5

Footnotes

CD’s footman was looking after the rabbits that Galton was conducting experiments on (see letter to Francis Galton, 27 May [1872] and n. 2).
A Mrs Brandram is listed at Hayes, Kent, in the Post Office directory of the six home counties 1874. This is probably Maria Brandram (BMD (Death index); England & Wales, national probate calendar (index of wills and administrations), 1875 (Ancestry.com, accessed 9 January 2012).
CD’s letter has not been found.
Galton evidently did not visit on Thursday 1 August (see letter to Francis Galton, 1 August [1872]).
For Galton’s investigation of spiritualism, see the letters from Francis Galton, 28 March 1872, 19 April 1872, and 7 June 1872.

Summary

May FG have lunch with CD Thursday [1 Aug] and arrange about rabbits?

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-8432
From
Francis Galton
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Rutland Gate, 42
Source of text
DAR 105: A66
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8432,” accessed on 24 June 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-8432

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20

letter