skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-8093

To G. A. Eisen   3 December 1871

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Dec 3. 1871

Dear Sir,

I am much obliged to you for your kindness in sending me your memoir, so well illustrated, on Earth-worms.1 I am at present by an odd chance observing one little point in their habits, & consequently I shall be very glad to learn something from you, by the aid of one of my sons who knows a little Swedish, with respect to the places frequented by the various species etc.—2

With my best thanks & respect | I remain dear Sir | Yours faithfully | Charles Darwin

Footnotes

1
CD refers to Eisen’s recently published volume on Scandinavian earthworms (Eisen 1871).
2
CD was gathering data on the volume of earth raised to the surface by worms (see letter from L. C. Wedgwood, 20 November [1871] and n. 2). CD probably refers to his son George Howard Darwin; for George’s translating from Swedish, see the letter to G. H. Darwin, 25 [October 1874] (Calendar no. 9697).

Summary

Thanks GAE for memoir on earthworms [Bidrag till Skandinaviens Oligochaetfauna (1871)]. CD by chance is just now observing "one little point in their habits". Will be happy to learn something about the places frequented by the various species.

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8093,” accessed on 25 September 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-8093

letter